Some Hot and Heavy Cooking

Image

My mother and I were doing a quick run through at target to buy a Christmas tree (last minute, we know) but we decided to take a detour through the book section.  Now let me begin by explaining that to say chicken was a staple in my family’s diet growing up is a HUGE understatement.  We had it at least four times a week and there was even a period around the age of 10 when I went on chicken strike.  Now, I cook it almost as much as my mother did and I think my wonderful roommate is on the verge of striking out on me as well.

As my mother and I were meandering the aisles of books my eyes caught a cook book that I had to show my mother, Fifty Shades of Chicken: A parody in a Cookbook, that boasted “50 Chicken Recipes Bound to Be Delicious”.  My mother took a look at the cover, had a laugh, and told me to throw it in to the cart.

The next morning, my mother told me that she felt the cook book was something that was more appropriate for my kitchen than hers.  I sat down to see what she meant and gave the cookbook a quick once over.  It didn’t take me long to realize that this cookbook really was a parody of the book Fifty Shades of Gray.  While the cook book has some seriously tantalizing recipes such as Roasted Chicken with Brandy-Vanilla Butter and Crispy Chicken Tenders with Cashews and Coconut Curry, it also has some hot and steamy narratives.  Let me tell you that roasting a chicken has never seemed so sexy.  Plus, the book comes with some great preparation illustrations:

Image

All humor aside, the dishes in here look great and there are some excellent new ways to teach an old bird new tricks.  I can’t wait to get all tied up in a few of these recipes.

Here’s the link to the book site:
http://www.fiftyshadesofchicken.com/
Keep eating and clinking!

-C

Leave a Reply

